Soup
NewsFeaturesStoreRacingPointsClassifiedsNavigation
Monza WSBK Previews: The Temple of Speed
by staff
Thursday, May 09, 2013

These just in:

Rea and Akiyoshi seek Monza speed

The Pata Honda team has travelled to Italy for this weekend's fourth-round World Superbike championship event at the Autodromo Nationale di Monza, just north of Milan.

Jonathan Rea is in good form following his second and fourth place finishes in round three at Assen in the Netherlands two weeks ago. The 26-year-old from Northern Ireland also enjoyed a successful test at the Dutch circuit following the race weekend.

Rea's Pata Honda crew has further refined the new electronics package on his CBR1000RR machine and he will debut a new fuel tank this weekend to optimise aerodynamics on the long Monza straights, as well as enhancing weight distribution.

Rea is joined at Monza by Japanese rider Kosuke Akiyoshi, who is replacing the injured Leon Haslam. Akiyoshi has not ridden the SBK-specification CBR or Pirelli tyres before, and the weekend will mark his first visit to Monza. However, the 38-year-old from Kurume partnered Jonathan Rea to last season's Suzuka 8-hour victory with Tadayuki Okada.

The 5.777km Autodromo Nationale di Monza has hosted spectacular motorsport events since the 1920s and has a fine tradition of high-speed slipstreaming battles in Superbike racing, often producing tantalizingly close finishes.

The Monza Superbike action kicks off tomorrow morning at 11.45 local time, with Superpole on Saturday afternoon at 15.00 to determine final grid positions for Sunday's two 18-lap races.

Jonathan Rea

It's always good to be back in Italy and at Monza, which is in such a nice area and always brings a really enthusiastic crowd. We had a two-day test after Assen which has got me even more comfortable with the new electronics but there's really nothing that you can test to prepare for Monza's longs straights and the horsepower that they require. It's a circuit that gives us some bigger challenges than others, but I'm looking forward to getting stuck in on Friday.

Kosuke Akiyoshi

I arrived from Japan only yesterday but I had a good sleep after doing a few laps of Monza on a scooter. It is a very good circuit with lots of chicanes and high speed straights and it looks like a lot of fun. I've seen some races on TV and it is very fast at Monza! Of course, everything is different for me on this CBR - suspension, tyres and electronics. But I think the package is good and, although I might have to adapt my riding style, my target for the weekend is to reach the podium.

Pieter Breddels - technical co-ordinator

We're bringing Jonathan's good results at Assen to Monza, which makes us reasonably confident about the weekend ahead. The last few years we haven't quite had the pace for podiums but we've been running in the top five and we've seen some good lap times. I see no reason why we should not fight for top places and maybe even the podium this time with Jonathan. We welcome Akiyoshi-san to the team to replace Leon here but it's a case of wait and see at the moment. He's new to the team, to the bike, to the tyres, to the circuit, but we wish him the best and, whatever the results, we look forward to a joyful weekend with him.

**************

WSBK

"Bar Sport" mania for World Superbike riders at Monza

Monza (Italy), Thursday 9 May 2013 - A sunny Monza Circuit saw today a selection of WSBK riders taking on an unusual but extremely entertaining activity at the Superbike Paddock Show in Thursday's Round 4 Pre-event prior to the racing weekend, that was massively attended by fans and photographers.

For a 21st century revival of the typical Italian "Bar Sport" Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team), Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike), Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team), Michel Fabrizio (Red Devils Roma Aprilia), Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet), Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing Aprilia), Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) and Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare) faced three challenging activities: arm wrestling, table football and last, but not least, karaoke!

Judging the singing contest were Manuela Raffaetà and Philippa Morson - girlfriends of Marco Melandri and Eugene Laverty respectively - and Intermoto Ponyexpres Kawasaki duo of Luca Scassa and David Salom.

Leon Camier was asked by Championship leader Sylvain Guintoli to join him for a vintage duet on the notes of Abba's "Mamma Mia". Jonathan Rea left his place at the microphone to his Monza's team mate Kousuke Akiyoshi, who performed "Poker Face" by Lady Gaga.

Proving the first playoff round was not enough, Melandri called for a table football final match. The BMW rider, joined once again by fellow-Italian Ayrton Badovini, squared off against the team of Sylvain Guintoli and Michel Fabrizio: it turned out to be a bad call, as the two Aprilia riders scored the victory with a resounding 5-1.

**************

Monza awaits the eni FIM Superbike World Championship

Rome (Italy), Tuesday 7 May 2013 - The eni FIM Superbike World Championship returns to Monza's Autodromo Nazionale for the 4th round of the season, with riders ready to take on the fastest track in the calendar. Following the two races at Assen, Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) is still the Championship leader at 111. The Frenchman, who ended his 7 podium-finish streak in race 2, is now looking forward to riding his works RSV4 on a track that exalts the top-speed of the vee-four Aprilia engine.

Guintoli will have to face fierce competition from a trio of riders ready to challenge him for the lead: team mate Eugene Laverty, double winner at Monza two years ago - in his rookie season - and boosted by the outstanding race 2 win of the last round, is tied in points at 83 with Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet) - who dominated in 2011 the weekend in Supersport thanks to a pole position, a win and the fastest lap - and Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), the latest race winner at Monza.

Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike) welcomes Kousuke Akiyoshi, former team mate in last year's Suzuka 8 Hour win, who has been selected as substitute for injured Leon Haslam for the upcoming round, while the British rider is speeding up his recovery in order to race at Donington Park later this month. Rea and the team can count on the experience of the 38 year old from Japan - HRC official test rider - to further improve the CBR1000RR after some good indications from the recent two-day test at Assen.

First of two home races for Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet), who is back from the unfortunate Sunday at Assen, and for Michel Fabrizio, who scored his maiden World Superbike race win in 2009 at Monza (race 1).

Good memories for Jules Cluzel (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) from last year's victory in the Supersport race - his career's first top-step finish in the series. Carlos Checa and Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare) are about to face a tough challenge on a track that didn't suit well the Ducati bikes in recent times. The 1199 Panigale R, though, will feature a 52mm air restrictor as per FIM regulations about the performance balance between twin and four-cylinder machines (article 2.4.8.1.3. - also confirmed on a note last April, 28 after race 2 at Assen TT Circuit).

Standings: 1. Guintoli (Aprilia) 111; 2. Laverty (Aprilia) 83; 3. Davies (BMW) 83; 4. Sykes (Kawasaki) 83; 5. Rea (Honda) 63; 6. Baz (Kawasaki) 58; 7. Fabrizio (Aprilia) 53; 8. Melandri (BMW) 51; 9. Cluzel (Suzuki) 41; 10. Giugliano (Aprilia) 33; 11. Camier (Suzuki) 30; 12. Checa (Ducati) 29; 13. Haslam (Honda) 29; 14. Neukirchner (Ducati) 29; 15. Badovini (Ducati) 20; etc.

World Supersport

Following the close two-way battle at Assen, Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Motorsport Yamaha) and Kenan Sofuoglu (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki) will be back on the track that saw both riders completing the podium behind race winner - and now World Superbike rookie - Jules Cluzel. The reigning Champion from Turkey, scored his only victory so far at Monza in 2007 (his first title season).

Championship leader Fabien Foret (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki), known for not being at ease on wet track conditions, hopes to find good weather to score another positive result on a favourable track for the French veteran - who won in 2002 and 2008, was 2nd in 2007 and 3rd in 2009 and 2011.

2nd place in the standings Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport) has never managed - in the two years racing STK600 - to achieve a podium finish at Monza. Team mate Lorenzo Zanetti, on the other hand, scored his first and only victory in 2011 by finishing the FIM Superstock 1000 Cup race with just 0.065 seconds margin over Davide Giugliano (title winner at the end of the year).

Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) has bad memories of his home-track from 2007, when he was racing with Honda in the Superbike class. Italian was forced to pull in from race 1 during the final lap, while he was in 2nd place.

Standings: 1. Foret (Kawasaki) 54; 2. Vd Mark (Honda) 49; 3. Lowes (Yamaha) 45; 4. Sofuoglu (Yamaha) 45; 5. Antonelli (Kawasaki) 29; 6. Scassa (Kawasaki) 26; 7. Zanetti (Honda) 24; 8. Kennedy (Honda) 24; 9. Rolfo (MV Agusta) 17; 10. Roccoli (Yamaha) 14; 11. Russo (Kawasaki) 13; 12. Leonov (Yamaha) 12; 13. Marino (Kawasaki) 11; 14. Salom (Kawasaki) 11; 15. Coghlan 11 (Kawasaki); etc.

************

Alstare Ducati

Team SBK Ducati Alstare in Italy for SBK Round 4 at Monza

Tuesday 7th May 2013: The historic Monza circuit will host the World Superbikes this coming weekend and Team SBK Ducati Alstare and its riders Carlos Checa and Ayrton Badovini are busy preparing to race at what is the fastest track on the championship calendar.

Just over a week ago the Ducati Alstare outfit participated in Round 3 of the championship at Assen in The Netherlands. Despite some solid results in the practice sessions, neither rider was able to secure the results they had hoped for in Sunday's races. Carlos' situation was not helped by the pain he felt in his left shoulder during the races, and which worsened over the following days.

A medical check-up for Carlos post-Assen unfortunately revealed an osseous edema on the head of the humerus of the left shoulder, an injury that probably results from a previous trauma and which has worsened and become inflamed as a result of effort made during the races. The Spanish rider has undergone an intense course of physiotherapy treatment to reduce the inflammation and the trauma, in order to be physically fit for this weekend's races at Monza. Checa's best result at the track thus far was a seventh place finish in race 2 just last season. Badovini has had mixed results at this challenging Italian track in recent years. His best Superbike result to date was sixth in 2011, while he won his Stock 1000 race the previous year. With many of the team's sponsors based in the north of Italy, Team SBK Ducati Alstare and the riders will be able to count on the support of several hundred guests at this weekend's event.

Set in extensive parkland, the historic ?Autodromo di Monza' was constructed in 1922 and is today characterized by two long straights, the longest of which measures 1195m. The World Championship has visited the Monza racetrack almost every year since 1990, with the exceptions of '91 e '94. Last year's round was disrupted by heavy rain and related safety concerns that resulted in the cancellation of race 1 and a shortened race 2.

Carlos Checa:
?During the last couple of events, especially in the races themselves, I've been having some problems with my left shoulder but the evening after the second race in Assen the pain got a lot worse. I went to see a specialist once I got back to Spain after that round and unfortunately he's told me that I have an osseous edema on the humerus. I will continue to receive treatment in Spain up until Thursday and I hope that that will help me to get through this coming weekend without any problems.'

Checa's Superbike form at Monza:
2012: Race 1 - n/a, Race 2 - 7th
2011: Race 1 - 9th, Race 2 - 10th
2010: Race 1- 14th, Race 2 - 11th
2009: Race 1 - 9th, Race 2 - 10th
2008: Race 1 - 8th, Race 2 - DNF

Ayrton Badovini:
?I've always enjoyed the Monza round, it's always fun to race at home. It will be challenging because of the long straights but we'll do our best to bring home the best possible result. Being one of two Italian events, I hope that there'll be a good crowd, fans, sponsors... The support of the people, at an event like Monza, really helps and spurs me on.'

*************

Pirelli

Pirelli in the "temple of speed" with specifically designed 17 inch Diablo Superbike solutions

In order to take on the fastest and most demanding track on tyres (along with the Phillip Island track), Pirelli will be bringing a few development solutions based on the standard ones but which adopt particular measures that have been specifically researched for the Brianza circuit.

The new intermediate tyre available to the Superbike riders may prove to be essential in the event of varying weather conditions like last year


Monza (Italy), 6 May 2013 - The brand with the long P is ready to race on its home track with the new 17 inch Diablo Superbike tyres for the top class and with the Diablo Supercorsa SC tyres for the Supersport, Superstock 1000 and Superstock 600 classes. In particular, for the Superbike class, given the peculiarities of the Brianza track and the power that modern engines achieve, Pirelli is bringing standard tyre solutions for the rear that adopt particular measures such as reinforcement of the blend in the central section capable of preventing problems such as blistering, typical of very fast tracks like Monza that put tyres to a hard test.

If weather conditions are particularly unstable like last year, the riders will have another weapon in their arsenal this year, the new intermediate tyre designed by Pirelli, the Diablo Wet.
Diablo Wet was designed and made precisely for the purpose of being used in cases where the race starts on a wet track which then dries out and vice versa or, as is typical at the Monza track, when parts of the track are completely wet due to precipitation while others are almost dry because of the tree coverage.

Also, with the introduction of the "Flag to Flag" rule this year, even in particularly adverse weather conditions the race will not be suspended, but the riders will be able to make a pit stop to change tyres. However, this will cause them to lose a lot of time to make the change. For precisely this reason, if these are the racing conditions, the new intermediate may prove to be priceless for race strategy and to avoid any pit stop which would otherwise be inevitable.

The "Autodromo Nazionale di Monza" is 5793 metres long and has 5 left-hand turns and 8 right-handers. There are four long straight stretches where the bikes can even exceed 330 kph. This is why enthusiasts know it as the "temple of speed". It is one of the oldest permanent race tracks in the world, along with Spa-Francorchamps, Indianapolis, Montlhéry and Brooklands. In fact, the Automobile Club of Milan decided to begin construction on it in January of 1922 in commemoration of the foundation's twenty fifth anniversary.


Monza from a tyre point of view:

The length of the straight stretches, the sustained high speeds and violence of the braking zones place stress on the central part of the tyre with demands that no other track in the championship has. The Monza circuit, practically the only one of its kind in the world, is extremely demanding on the centre of the tyre section because of the long straight stretches and abrupt braking sections. Basically, the thermal energy developed at a zero lean angle both in acceleration and in braking is about 5 times greater than that developed at Assen.
Then there is the thermal demand on the right-hand shoulder which, especially in the Biassono turn, stays in a lean for a long time in acceleration, reaching thermal energy values on the shoulder that begin to approach the record levels of Phillip Island. The maximum peak on the right-hand shoulder touches 160° in the Biassono turn and coming out of the Parabolica. The tyre temperature hovers above 100° for 6 seconds in the Biassono and for 8 seconds in the Parabolica. As the bikes approach the Ascari section, which has two left-handers with chicanes, the left shoulder of the tyre is at very low temperature conditions.

On the starting stretch the bike's throttle stays wide open for 1.2 Km which last 18 seconds, soaring above 300 kph for about 350 metres which correspond to more than 4 seconds. At 250 metres from the first curve the riders lean hard on the brakes to manoeuvre through the right/left chicane, speed dropping an astonishing 250 kph and the brakes stay on for 300 metres that last 7 seconds, with thermal stress on the tyre 5 times greater than on any other circuit.

Then, after the first section we find the Biassono turn, a long right-hander with a wide radius of about 300 metres where the tyre stays at a 50° lean angle for 400 metres which last 7 seconds at a speed of 230 kph, thermally stressing the right shoulder which reaches more than 100° for 6 seconds, touching peaks of 160°, significant energy which is exceeded only in the last turn at Phillip Island.
After the second Lesmo turn, the temperature on the right shoulder is 70° higher than the left. On the Curva del Serraglio, the Pirelli tyre's special structure quickly makes up this difference, coming into the Ascari turn with a difference of just 15°. Here, without ever dropping below 100 Km/h, the tyre reaches angles of about 55° on the left-hand side, then moving to 55° on the other side with a drop into the lean angle at rates of up to 100° per second. The balance of the two sides helps exit from the last turn, to rocket towards the Parabolica braking zone where the tyre's right shoulder temperature will stay above 100° for 8 seconds.


Monza from a technical point of view:

"For Pirelli the Monza round is always considered as a home round because our main headquarters are just a few kilometres from the race track" said Pirelli Moto Racing Director Giorgio Barbier "By now it is well known that this track, together with the Australian circuit, is by far the most demanding where tyres are concerned because of the sustained high speeds and the violence of the braking sections. These are characteristics that stress the central part of the tyre section in a way that none of the other tracks in the World Superbike Championship do. Basically, the thermal energy developed at a zero lean angle both in acceleration and in braking is about 5 times greater than that developed at Assen. Furthermore, the thermal demand on the right-hand shoulder where, especially in the Biassono turn, the tyre stays in a lean for a long time in acceleration, reaching thermal energy values on the shoulder that approach the record levels of Phillip Island. These issues are further complicated by problems in terms of the unpredictable weather conditions which gave us a taste last year of the problems that they can create, although this year we are confident that we can take on even the worst track conditions thanks to the new intermediate design. In past years, specifically to handle the critical issues I just mentioned, we have always developed 16.5 inch tyres that had characteristics of not only a more resistant blend in the central section, but also with an oversized profile. This year the biggest challenge was to create similar, but improved solutions compared to the predecessors, still staying at the 17 inch sizes."


Pirelli solutions for the Superbike and Supersport classes:

The brand with the long P will bring a total of 4895 tyres to Monza in order to meet the needs of the four classes in the eni FIM World Superbike Championship and the European Junior Cup. The lower Superstock 1000 FIM Cup and Superstock600 UEM European Championship categories will have the Diablo Supercorsa tyres available to them, as they have for the entire championship, only in the standard solutions: specifically, in the 600 class the riders race on an SC1 compound on the 120/70 front and SC2 on the 180/60 rear, the 1000 riders use the SC2 compound in both cases, 120/70 on the front here as well, but 200/55 on the rear. For the Superbike and Supersport classes, given the unique nature and peculiarity of the Brianza track, Pirelli has decided to focus particularly on development solutions which use standard compounds.
Each Superbike rider will have 37 front tyres and 36 rear to choose from, whereas the Supersport riders will have 25 front and 27 rear tyres.

For the top Superbike class Pirelli offers 4 dry solutions for the front and 3 for the rear. These are joined, as always, by the rear qualifier that riders will be able to use in the three Superpole sessions on Saturday and the intermediate solutions (3 available for both the front and the rear) as well as wet solutions (7 for both the front and the rear).
On the front there will be an SC1 solution and three SC2 solutions. The standard SC1 and SC2 slicks (respectively the R426 and R982 specifications), which were already used in the first three rounds of the current season, are joined by two development SC2 solutions that Pirelli had as yet only brought to Phillip Island: the R1220 that looks like a more robust and more protected SC2 compared to the standard one and the R753 which is even more robust than the R1220, to the advantage of even greater wear resistance.
For the rear three solutions are planned which we consider to be development solutions because, although they retain the standard tyre compounds, they integrate particular measures in order to handle the problems created by the Italian track, just one of which is the reinforced compound at the central portion of the tyre. For the first time in the 2013 season there will be an SC0 blend solution (S515), the softest available, which should be used in high temperatures. This tyre is basically like the standard SC0 which has the same compound, but it has a reinforced central strip which is able to provide protection against blistering which is a rather common possibility at Monza.
The SC0 is joined by two SC1 development solutions in medium hardness compound, the S513 which differs from the standard version only with a reinforced central section and the S514 which, in addition to the reinforced central section, was specifically designed with different internal structure and materials in order to keep operating temperatures particularly low. The peculiarity of reinforcing the central tread strip adopted for the rear race solutions will also be used on the qualifying tyre available to the riders for the Saturday Superpole sessions. These tyres have four pink stripes on them instead of the usual yellow stripes in honour of Mother's Day which is celebrated in many countries on Sunday race day, 12 May.

As for Supersport, on the front the riders will be able to choose from the two standard solutions, the SC1 soft compound (P1177) and the SC2 medium (R1031), already used and brought to all the races so far in 2013.
On the rear the riders will be able to choose between a new development solution in soft SC0 compound (S510) which should be used if the temperatures are higher and two medium compound SC1 solutions: The standard R303 and the R1134 solution which was only brought to the Phillip Island round.

***************

BMW


Press Release

4
of
60
Previous page
Next page

Share
Facebook
Twitter
Google+

BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team - WSBK - Monza - Preview

06.05.2013

Language Version:

EN
DE

Contained media data:

1 Attachment

Italy - Monza.

Preview.

10th - 12th May 2013

4th of 15 race weekends

Munich/Milan, 6th May 2013. The next round of the 2013 FIM Superbike World Championship marks the first of three home rounds for the German-Italian BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team. The fourth round of the season will see the series head to the iconic "Autodromo Nazionale di Monza" in the north of Italy this weekend (10th to 12th May). The race track is located close to the Milan headquarters of BMW Motorrad Italia, which is responsible for the works teams' race and test outings as well as the chassis development.

Factory rider Chaz Davies (GBR) has already celebrated two victories with his BMW S 1000 RR this season. In the Riders' classification, he is currently third with 83 points, tied on points with second placed Eugene Laverty (IRL) and Tom Sykes (GBR / fourth). His Italian team-mate Marco Melandri for several reasons has had a difficult season so far but has finished twice on the podium. He is currently eighth with 51 points. For Marco, Monza is his first home round of the season. In the Manufacturers' Classification, BMW is second with 99 points.

Last year, the action on the Sunday was significantly cut short at Monza. After heavy rainfall, the first race had to be completely cancelled and the second one had to be shortened to eight laps. To prevent a repeat of last year's issues, the track was resurfaced in the ?Parabolica' section in order to improve the drainage and to smoothen the formerly bumpy surface.

For the BMW Motorrad GoldBet STK Team with riders Sylvain Barrier (FRA) and Greg Gildenhuys (RSA), Monza marks the third round of the 2013 FIM Superstock 1000 Cup. Sylvain won the first race at Aragón (ESP) and finished second at round two at Assen (NED) on his brand new BMW HP4. In the Riders' classification, he is leading with 45 points.

Monza from the rider's point of view:

Chaz Davies:

"I am looking forward to Monza. It is quite different to most circuits because the track has not many corners but very fast straights. We have been to the wind tunnel last week and we will try to transfer the things we learned there to Monza. The track with its long straights should suit our powerful RR quite well, and I am confident that we will have one of the most competitive bikes in Monza. But power on the straights is not everything. We will work on further improving the chassis a little bit and on finding the best settings for this track. Overall, I hope for a smoother weekend than in Assen and then we will see how things go. The atmosphere at Italian races is always something special, the fans are so excited and you feel that Italy is the heart of Superbike racing in Europe. Hopefully everybody will have a good weekend and enjoy some exciting racing."

Marco Melandri:

"I really like Monza because it is a unique track and in dry conditions it is just a great circuit. In wet conditions, on the contrary, it is really difficult to ride a bike there, so I'm hoping for good weather. Regarding my physical condition, I am pretty satisfied. I am continuing with my training and expect to be quite fit for the race. On the other hand, Monza is not a physicalyl demanding track, so I think that I will not struggle with my shoulder, also because there are not too many corners. It will be really important to exit these corners in the best possible way in order to be as fast as possible on the straights. Unfortunately this is the area where I am still struggling and don't feel as comfortable as I should, but overall I am confident for the races. I think that we are well positioned, especially with our strong BMW engine."

Monza from a sporting point of view:

Serafino Foti (Sport Director BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK Team):

"Monza is always a special round. The people are looking forward to it and the interest in the race is huge. In addition, the whole team regards Monza as one of their home tracks. Both Marco and Chaz are extremely motivated. Monza is a fast track they really like and, thanks also to the characteristics of our bike, we are sure that both will do very well. Marco will be quite fit for his mission to overcome the unlucky previous race and we are working hard to allow him to be up in the front positions - where he is used to being. Chaz showed in Assen, how maturely he manages tense situations. I am sure that in Monza he will be very strong and put the previous race behind him. In the Superstock class, we have to continue the positive trend. Monza is a track which suits our bike and, even if our rivals will be very competitive, Sylvain and Greg will surely give us a good weekend."

***************

Aprilia

APRILIA RACING TAKES ON THE FIRST ITALIAN ROUND OF THE WORLD SUPERBIKE SEASON, FORTIFIED BY THEIR DOUBLE LEADERSHIP.

SYLVAIN GUINTOLI AND EUGENE LAVERTY ARE FIRST AND SECOND IN THE RIDER STANDINGS.

APRILIA LEADS THE MANUFACTURER CHAMPIONSHIP.


Noale, 7 May 2013 - After an exciting start, to say the least, the World Superbike Championship embarks on Italy for a round full of thrills and history. In fact, the factory derivative bikes will be tackling the Monza circuit which has always been a stage for challenges that come down to the last turn and record setting speeds. This is a special track for Aprilia, reigning World SBK champion, which has always held their Italian heritage high and won exciting victories thanks to the extraordinary performance of the super fast RSV4.

The 2013 season finds the brand from Noale at the top after three rounds, leading both the Rider and Manufacturer championships. Sylvain Guintoli's championship lead is completed by Eugene Laverty's second place, arriving fresh from a win in Race 2 at Assen and back with a vengeance at the top of the SBK Championship. For the Aprilia riders Monza is charged with significance and motivation, reinforced by Eugene and Sylvain's paster performances on this asphalt: the lad from Northern Ireland took the Supersport victory here in 2010 and in 2011 on his SBK début, while Frenchman Guintoli won the 2012 Superpole under very difficult conditions.

"I am very excited about riding my RSV4 in Monza - confirms Sylvain Guintoli - We came here as ranking leaders, just as the championship is getting heated up. I like this track and it suits the Aprilia perfectly. Hopefully we can beat the all time Superbike top speed record and come back with 2 strong results".

Eugene Laverty is of the same opinion, charged up from his victory at Assen: "It was important to bounce back with a race victory in Assen. Honestly I didn't expect to win, which gives me a lot of confidence going into one of our strongest circuits on the calendar. Top speed is very important at Monza and the RSV4 has plenty of that. Let's hope the weather stays dry and that we can enjoy two great races on Sunday".

And on the occasion of the first Italian World SBK round Aprilia invites all motorcycle fans to try out the brand new Caponord 1200 from 9 May to Sunday 12 May and to see the extremely sporty 2013 range. At the Aprilia space in the Monza SBK Village, just a short stroll from the Paddock, the entire Aprilia range will be available for your hands-on pleasure: from the unbeatable RSV4 to the Dorsoduro 1200, from the Shiver 750 to the SRV 850, the most powerful and fastest scooter in the world. You can make an appointment to test the Aprilia Caponord, the new street enduro, directly at the Aprilia Space.

Aprilia Caponord 1200 can be test ridden at the following times:
- Thursday 9 May, from 11:00 to 18:00
- Friday 10 May, from 10:00 to 18:00
- Saturday 11 May, from 10:00 to 18:00
- Sunday 12 May, from 10:00 to 13:00

****************


ENDS

Share |

Return to News
 
 

PRIVACY POLICY | HOME | RETURN TO TOP

© 1997 - 2012 Hardscrabble Media LLC