Danny's Day At The Beach
images by Brian J. Nelson

The 2014 Daytona 200 shaped up as a battle between Triumph and Yamaha. Of the 43 entries, most of the fast riders were on 675 triples or R6 fours. Note the three fans in this grandstand had their choice of seats.

The fans in the infield stands saw an exciting race with lots of lead changes early on.

Triumph's Danny Eslick leads Yamaha's Garrett Gerloff, while Yamaha's Dane Westby takes the inside line on Triumph's Bobby Fong. Meanwhile, Yamaha's JD Beach and Triumph's Lee Farmer bring up the rear. Approximately fifty fans in this section catch the action.

Infield RVs double as observation decks, making it easier to see the riders blazing around the high banks.

After an emotional off-season for the 200 winner, Eslick takes a moment to reflect on the magnitude of what he'd just accomplished.

Eslick remembered friends lost during the winter, including Tommy Aquino, who he dedicated his win to.

After 57 grueling laps, the top-three finishers--Eslick, Jake Gagne, and Jake Lewis--still mustered enough energy to have some fun in the post-race press conference.

Eslick said it was the quickest 200 miles he'd ever ridden. He couldn't believe it was over so soon.

Two Oklahomans at the point. Dane Westby was an early contender for the win until a missed downshift caused him to highside off his Yamalube-sponsored R6, which ended his day.

On the cool-down lap after his win, Eslick parked his Triumph in the infield and jumped the fence to celebrate with the fans.

Eslick schooled the other riders on how to win the Daytona 200, and then he climbed aboard his posse's school bus just to drive home the point.

Eslick and his Triumph take the inside line on a swarm of Yamaha R6s. At the back of the lead group is Daytona 200 specialist Jason DiSalvo, also Triumph-mounted. While these grandstands are empty, those that were there say attendance numbers were 'better'.


© 1997 - 2014 Hardscrabble Media LLC