1980-2010 Daytona 200 One-Liners

…. Mr.D wins again for Kawasaki despite being gridded somewhere near Boot Hill Saloon.

  • 2010: Under the lights and out in the cold, Josh Herrin’s teeth chatter all the way to the win on his Yamaha R6.

  • 2009: Mr. Mojo Rising Ben Bostrom blitzes the field on his Yamaha R6 in the first nightime D200 and first Daytona SportBike race.

  • 2008: Welshman Chaz Davies gets the repeat win for Rich Stanboli’s Attack Performance team. After “all that” happened, of course.

  • 2007: Steve Rapp gets Kawasaki’s first Daytona 200 win since 1995; also the first win for a non-factory rider since Ashmead in ’89.

  • 2006: American Honda’s Jake Zemke holds off Erion Racing’s Josh Hayes in a nine-lap shootout to the checkers.

  • 2005: Miguel DuHamel, Mr. 600, joins Russell as co-Mr. Daytona with his record-tying fifth 200 win, this time in the 600cc Formula Xtreme class.

    2004: Mat Mladin wraps up the Superbike era for the Daytona 200 with his third win for Yoshimura Suzuki.

  • 2003: Draft-dodger DuHamel tops Honda one-two-three.

  • 2002: It’s The Kid’s weekend: Nick Hayden sets pole, crashes huge, wins race.

  • 2001: Got a spare bike or two? Mat Mladin wins as the chicane burns.

  • 2000: Suzuki’s Mladin takes an intense 200-mile battle with Nicky Hayden.

  • 1999: Miguel beats Mat with cane.

  • 1998: Number Five: Russell dominates for Yamaha, Part Deux.

  • 1997: Russell maintains Daytona mastery, tops Edwards and Chandler.

  • 1996: After the rain, DuHamel dispels the “never lead out of the chicane” myth by holding off Russell.

  • 1995: Russell falls early, still hands a smack-talkin’ Foggy his ass.

  • 1994: Mr.D wins again for Kawasaki despite being gridded somewhere near Boot Hill Saloon.

  • 1993: God rides a Yamaha.

  • 1992: Russell beats the “unbeatable” Polen/Ducati combo with a last lap, last second maneuver.

  • 1991: DuHamel wins his first D200 versus 76—yes, 76—other finishers.

  • 1990: Dave Sadowski wins 200, forever ingratiating himself to the industry.

  • 1989: “Tell Medley to get Ashmead out of his van and come to victory circle NOW!”

  • 1988: Kevin Schwantz wins Daytona, springboards into racing legend.

  • 1987: Schwantz hands Wayne Rainey his first Daytona win after crashing with a 20 second plus lead.

  • 1986: Lawson beats Schwantz and Merkel in the Golden Era.

  • 1985: The year Freddie Spencer could do no wrong.

  • 1984: King Kenny Roberts closes two-stroke era and his Daytona career with third D200 victory.

  • 1983: Roberts wins on the bike he loved to hate—the Yamaha OW69.

  • 1982: Graeme Crosby from Down Under wins attrition-filled race.

  • 1981: Pig farmer makes good, again: Georgia’s Dale Singleton wins his second D200

  • 1980: Rain, hail, and broken connecting rod screw rookie Freddie Spencer, as Frenchman Patrick Pons inherits win.

    Return to News